Detholz! demo – “Water on the Brain”

Welcome to Detholz! Mp3 Blog Episode XXIX!

Abject apologies for a protracted absence!

With 3 jobs, 2 bands and a wedding to plan, the number of plates I’m spinning this summer I dare not tell.

This week, a song I had hoped to clutch closely to my teat until the record release. Realizing my ineptitude for time management, and hearing the requests of fans for the demo after shows, I give you:

WATER ON THE BRAIN

This is one of the early tracks that was voted onto the new record by the band, and has been in rotation over a few US tours. Generally, the response has been really good, especially at a certain club in Pittsburgh, where this number raised the roof and brought it down again.

Unfortunately, given my ridiculous time constraints, I’m going to have to leave you to interpret this one on your own. Suffice it to say it centers on our capacities to be Beasts. Human Animals.

The only clue I’ll give you: a musical reference to the song “Cast Out Devils,” the title track of our last record (which can be found in a previous post!) This is a similar song of grief. Not death in this case, but loss of friendship.

Also, I hereby dedicate this number to one of my favorite Biblical characters, the widely misunderstood King Nebuchadnezzar.

I promise to be more diligent about posting weekly! Trust me, I’ll be back once this wedding has blown over, oh yes…

Tune in next week for a painfully embarrassing episode!

LYRICS

Upstairs what’s happening
Upstairs at night
A boiling and a bubbling
Stir it left to right

A hot, sticky package
In the back of your mouth
Inside is a message
Rip it out
Figure it out

We will never meet again
We will never be the same
There are creatures in our hearts
Pumping water on the brain

Stand upon a balcony
High above the ground
Growing claws like an animal
Making animal sounds

My neck is wide open
I lay down in the mud
Sink your teeth into me
While I pump the blood

We will never meet again
We will never be the same
There are creatures in our hearts
Pumping water on the brain

“Cabbages, knickers”–
My enemy–
“It hasn’t got a beak!”
A kingdom of bellies hangs off of me
and drags along the street

Ah, my brother!

I will never bleed again
You will never speak my name
There are devils in our hearts
Pumping water on the brain

My throat is coming out
You’re tearing it away
We’re crawling on all fours
Kings of all that we survey

Tags: , , , , ,

10 Responses to “Detholz! demo – “Water on the Brain””

  1. jim Says:

    This one took a while to grow on me. I’m diggin’ it lately.

  2. detholz Says:

    Jim: Splendid. Interesting that fans of earlier DH! take a while to warm up to this one. New fans mention it after shows usually without fail.

  3. bp Says:

    Wow, my first time listening to this song I was totally lost as to where the downbeat was–I think the kick drum and off-beat guitar particularly contributed to this. But on listen number two, everything gelled just fine–especially when I figured out the first of the two kick drum hits that repeats is *not* the downbeat–the second one is. I like the Nebuchadnezzar imagery here, by the way. Our church’s interim pastor surmised about a year ago that King N. probably didn’t wind up in hell, and isn’t the villain our elementary-school Sunday school lessons made him out to be…

  4. detholz Says:

    bp: Yeah, fooling around with phase is a tried-and-true Nu-Detholz! technique. I’ll write a bass line with a strong 4/4 or 3/4 feel and simply shift the downbeat over a note or two. The first song where I tried this was “Death to the Traitor,” which I think is a more jarring example.

    King N. really gets a bad rap. Of course, he did allow a giant statue of himself to be erected and commanded his entire nation to worship it– but is that really any different than the Ryan Seacrest’s and Britney Spears’s of our day?

  5. bp Says:

    I’ll grant that King N. was pretty self-absorbed in his “statue” era, but if I’m not mistaken, his “turning-into-a-beast/conversion experience” happens after that. He writes about it himself in Daniel chapter 4–a pretty amazing chapter to be sure.

  6. kebabdylan Says:

    i really like this song. I have mentioned in the past that when you find the balance between the music geek and accessibility… kinda like this one… super!

    The last handful of songs have really been knock outs for me. Do you have a current what’s in / what’s out list from the blog. I am curious which ones have been discarded and which ones are sticking with you

  7. jim Says:

    What we really need is some Future Wife. Well…I do, anyways.

  8. bp Says:

    It’s been so long since our last Detholz! fix. Is the blog in hibernation forever? Come back, Detholz!! Come back!

  9. Jim Says:

    Agreed! Need the fix!

    Although, to hold me over, I just purchased the three live albums from the itunes store. Didn’t know they were available till recently. Now Cooper, I figure you’re prolly cringing hearing this news, but I’m totally stoked! Super sweet hearing the good old stuff again. BUT WE NEED MORE. I think someone requested a Future Wife demo to be posted. Sounds like a good idea to me.

  10. detholz Says:

    Detholz! comrades, old and new:

    The Detholz! blog returns THIS WEDNESDAY.

    And every Wednesday hereafter.

    Apologies for the protracted absence — now that I am spelunking the deeper caverns of holy matrimony, I am finally in a position to write again.

    I guess that sounded more euphemistic than I intended.

    Talk Wednesday,
    Jim Cooper

Leave a Reply

