Detholz! demo – “Water on the Brain”

Welcome to Detholz! Mp3 Blog, Episode XXIX!

Abject apologies to all of you for a protracted absence. All work and no play makes Jim a dull boy. All work and no play makes Jim a dull boy, etc., etc.

3 jobs, 2 bands and a wedding to plan later, here I am back on the Detholz! blog, with a mainstay in the most recent Detholz! rotation:

WATER ON THE BRAIN

Given my hectic schedule of late, spinning a number of plates I dare not tell, I’m going to have to leave you to interpret this song without guidance.

After a few shows, some of you have requested this demo, so… voila! I had hoped to hold onto it, saving the release for the record, but since I can’t write overmuch at this point, I throw it to you for immediate consumption. It seems to be a current favorite of the fans in the field.

It was one of the first tracks to be included on the new record, and has been played on a few US tours to generally good reception.

I promise to be more diligent from here on in, but with a ton of arranging of wedding music (and other job-related music projects in the queue), this summer will be largely devoid of commentary. Sorry folks! Don’t lose heart! I will be back soon…

Tune in next week for an episode of embarrassment…

LYRICS

Upstairs what’s happening
Upstairs at night
A boiling and a bubbling
Stir it left to right

A hot, sticky package
In the back of your mouth
Inside is a message
Rip it out
Figure it out

We will never meet again
We will never be the same
There are creatures in our hearts
Pumping water on the brain

Stand upon a balcony
High above the ground
Growing claws like an animal
Making animal sounds

My neck is wide open
As I lay in the mud
Sink your teeth into me
While I pump the blood

We will never meet again
We will never be the same
There are creatures in our hearts
Pumping water on the brain

“Cabbages, knickers”–
My enemy–
“It hasn’t got a beak!”
A kingdom of bellies hangs off of me
and drags along the street

“Oh, my brother”

I will never bleed again
You will never speak my name
There are devils in our hearts
Pumping water on the brain

My throat is coming out
You’re tearing it away
We’re crawling on all fours
Kings of all that we survey

Tags: , , , ,

One Response to “Detholz! demo – “Water on the Brain””

  1. Freddy Benstein Says:

    I like it. It’s very catchy, especially the keyboard part.

Leave a Reply

