If a picture paints a thousand words, then why can’t I paint you?

Welcome back to the Detholz! Mp3 Blog!

I. ANDREW SOLE UPDATE

First of all, our deepest and heartfelt thanks to all of you who stepped forward to contribute to our ailing drummer, Andrew Sole (see last post). This has been a dark time for him as he wrestles with a severe back condition that’s flared up & is preventing him from playing music & making his living. You can’t know how much it meant to him that so many fans and friends came forward. He’s been feeling very isolated and alone since his back went out & when I was able to tell him how many of you had come donated, he was deeply moved.

Secondly, he’s not out of the woods yet. Here’s an update on his condition from 4 days ago, from the man himself:

“As of today I have gone through 2 weeks and 2 days of VAX – D and Chiropractic treatments. Unfortunately there has been little improvement even after 2 weeks of treatment. I got another MRI this morning. In comparing the old MRI ( 6 years ago ) with the new one today. It is the same 2 disks that are injured as before, the 4th and 5th Lumbar. The bad news is they are worse this time than before. Which I expected due to the fact I haven’t improved much at all after 2 weeks of treatment. The good news is that they said it is still treatable with VAX- D. I don’t need surgery yet. It will just be a lot more time, money and treatment than we thought.

I can’t say enough how much I am grateful for everyone’s prayers and (lower back) support. I can feel everyone with me (fans and friends) even though I haven’t seen anyone for a while. These are tough times. I’ve kind of set all my anger, frustration, and fear about all this on the shelf for now so I can think clearly and focus on doing what needs to be done to heal for now one day at a time.”

If you haven’t already, please visit our SAVE ANDREW SOLE PAGE and give back to a great drummer and good friend. Like most of us music folk, he pays for his own benefits and is not paid very much to ply his trade. He really needs his fans’ and his friends’ help right now. Thanks to all of you who have donated and thanks in advance to those of you who will!

II. SUB DRUMMER

Since Andrew is out of commission for awhile, we are looking at a few sub drummers to fill in while he recovers. Detholz! may be down but we’re not out. Soon we shall return, oh yes. I’m afraid the Detholz! are quite operational…

III. KEY CLUB PICTURES

Since a picture is worth exactly one thousand words, you can consider this an unusually lengthy blog.

I’ve posted a gallery of photos & captions from our “Death to the Traitor” recording session at Key Club in Benton Harbor, MI here:

DEATH TO THE TRAITOR SESSION I

See you next time, friends!

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

7 Responses to “If a picture paints a thousand words, then why can’t I paint you?”

  1. Elaine Says:

    If a [wo]man could be two places at one time, I’d be with you tomorrow and today.

    [cue velvet jacket and lonely cigarette]

  2. steve Says:

    Did you guys record in a forest?

  3. Fragile Porpoise Says:

    Is it really Detholz! without Andrew? Is it really? Think about it.

    How much longer will the donation site be up? I’m trying to make some calculations…

  4. detholz Says:

    Elaine: I should have thrown it all away… But not today.

    Steve: Ask us about the faun that magically appeared, foot on his calf, playing a pan flute. Good thing the mic was on!

    Porps: I’m going to keep the site up for as long as Andrew needs it. As per a conversation this morning, at least another month or so. Spread the word!

  5. bp Says:

    Great photos! So, did Rick’s ears hurt really, really bad after wearing those incredibly uncomfortable Koss headphones?

  6. jim Says:

    How’s the sub-drummer hunt going? Looking forward to seeing the band again with all this “excited to be in the studio” momentum going.

  7. Fragile Porpoise Says:

    I think it’s about time for an update even if it just serves as a reminder that there shall be no update because you’re all probably really busy right now working on all those awesome projects.
    Just saying.

Leave a Reply

