A note from Andrew Sole, Detholz! drummer

To my friends and fans,

Not sure where to begin. My back is over all feeling much better at this point. I’m starting to get back into my normal activities gradually. I’m playing drums each day which is really good for me psychologically. Certain movements that caused pain or irritation 1 or 2 months ago no longer do at this point. If things continue to go well in the next month or so I’m hoping to be back in the saddle again at our next show in August. I spent 9 full weeks on a VAX-D table which is a spinal decompression device that helps to heal the injured discs. You can read more about it and the clinic where I am being treated at http://www.americanbackcenter.org. Right now I am doing mostly Physical therapy which includes stretching and core strength exercises.

Although I am feeling better I still don’t know what the long term future holds for me and my drumming career. Some information says that VAX-D, the treatment that I chose, is not a permanent solution to injured and degenerative discs. So I am going to try to get some second opinions from some surgeons to see what other minimally evasive treatments there are available. Although I am going to avoid surgery at all costs if I can, especially spinal fusion which is the most extreme kind.

I am also looking in to stem cell treatment at some point in the hopefully near future. There is a place in Colorado that is already treating degenerative discs with stem cells which help the injured discs to regenerate. But that is in the very early stages and insurance does not cover it.

Anyway, my main purpose of this post is not to go on railing against med. Insurance. It is to say that I feel like one of the luckiest people in Chicago because of all the love, support and donations I have received from people I know and that I may not know. I don’t really have any words to express my gratitude for this. If I knew everyone who donated and they were all in the same room I would at least bear hug and thank each of you personally. I can’t express how humbled I am by this whole thing. I am hoping that I can pass it on to others some day.

All the donations that I have received so far are going towards monthly payments for the medical bill which I was able to spread out over 4 years. The donations will give me a year or two of payments without dipping into my regular income. This will allow me some time to get myself back together physically and financially, and also try to fight Blue Cross to get them to cover at least some of the expenses. BTW if anyone knows of a good social worker in Chicago that can help me sort through the complex bureaucracy of the med. Insurance appeals process and knows how to deal with denied medical claims please let me know. I can be reached at lanndru at gmail dot com

It’s extremely unfortunate that this whole thing happened because of our completely failed health care system in this country, and that you all used your hard earned money in place of it, for which I am forever indebted and grateful to every one of you. However, on the flipside I am extremely Fortunate to have all of you in my life, not just for the donations alone but also for the prayers, moral support, love and encouragement. These past three months have been the darkest, loneliest period ever in the 36 years that I’ve been alive. If you thought Black Pagan Metal from Europe was dark, try climbing inside my brain for the past few months. I have been playing drums now for 21 years and I’m not about to give it up easily. The thought of not playing music completely destroys my soul.

All of you through this dark period have given me strength to do my best to get through this and not give up. It’s extremely important to support each other in these ways whether you are an artist, musician or shoe salesman.

As Harry Tuttle (Robert De Niro), the heating and cooling engineer said in the movie Brazil:

“Remember, we’re all in this together “

Tags: , , ,

5 Responses to “A note from Andrew Sole, Detholz! drummer”

  1. bp Says:

    Thanks for the update, Andrew. I’m praying for you, man.

  2. Fragile Porpoise Says:

    It’s good to hear from you, good sir. I saw you at the Baby Teeth show Friday but was too scared to approach and ask how you were doing. I figured it would be a little creepy to have a total stranger ask about one’s health. Sounds like positive progress is being made and I wish you all the best.

  3. Brian Sole Says:

    “I can’t express how humbled I am by this whole thing. I am hoping that I can pass it on to others some day.”

    Andrew, I know I speak for many people, when I say that you’ve already passed on a great deal to all of us. I wish we could help you more.

  4. Dave Snyder Says:

    Dear Andrew,

    I first met you and Jim Cooper at my sister’s senior piano recital at Wheaton. At the time, you had really long hair and were talking excitedly about a mock-hair metal band you were thinking of forming called, Majestica.

    Since that time, I’ve been a big follower of Detholz! Some years ago, you guys played an encore for my wife and I, that being Kiss Me in Space. We were the saps who kissed for the first time to that tune.

    Anyway, I injured my L5 S1 disc when I was 18, and I’m now 37. I’ve done everything, including a version of the Vax-D traction device. Besides that, I’ve done the legitimate form of Pilates, seen dozens of physical therapists, done the underwater treadmill thing, seen a few chiropractors, had about six cortizone injections, tried accupuncture, had tons of massage, tried walking and other forms of low-impact exercise, learned about a hundred different stretches, lost 30 pounds to take the pressure off, tried hanging rightside-up and upside-down, and finally, surgery (microdisctectomy). The surgery fixed my main problem, but sort of created another. I’m on a mild painkiller for the indefinite future, although I don’t intend to be on it forever as I don’t like taking drugs if I can help it.

    I’ve talked to literally dozens of professionals over the last 20 years, and the one thing I can say, for sure, is that you’re not a candidate for fusion. Although several people I’ve seen have tried to get me to go this route, fusion is really only for folks who are in so much pain that they’ll do absolutely anything to get rid of it. If the pain isn’t making you want to commit suicide, than there are other options open to you as far as surgery goes.

    Feel to email me or reply to this comment to discuss. No one solution is for everybody, and most “professionals” simply aren’t. There simply is no consensus out there as to what is the actual answer to this problem.

  5. Fragile Porpoise Says:

    The “possibly related posts” have some interesting titles.

    I had a dream there was a new post what revealed the new album release date. Is this a sign of updates to come or am I just getting a little too obsessed?
    Well, can’t just be a *little* obsessed, I suppose…

Leave a Reply

